Why i can modding on DR ?

Post Reply
backer033
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 11:42 pm

Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by backer033 » Tue Apr 29, 2014 11:46 pm

Hello, i want create a mod for Dangerous rays, but i don't know anything for create a new mod. How i can create a mod for the game plz?

Sry for my english, i'm bad and need to learn to speak english lol

User avatar
Applejaxc
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 7:11 pm

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by Applejaxc » Sat May 03, 2014 12:33 am

As far as I know, documentation (tutorials) and tools (converting 3D models to Leadwerks compatible ones) are all coming in the future. Until then, there is sadly slim to nill to be done.
"She looked down to blush, and up to sigh, with a smile on her face, and a tear in her eye." -Lochinvar, by Sir Walter Scott

User avatar
OldSnake
Dev Team
Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:42 pm

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by OldSnake » Sat May 03, 2014 12:47 am

While waiting some tutorials, you can start exploring content/configs folder and open .xml files with notepad++ for example and see what things are exposed ;)
Dangerous Rays main developer and Lonely Bits Games director. http://www.lonelybitsgames.com

User avatar
Seneral
Dangerous Rays Supporter
Dangerous Rays Supporter
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by Seneral » Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:03 pm

Hey there!
I know this post is a bit old..:/
Anyways, I tried to mod the game a bit, and I did it! At least, naw, lets see:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kpkkniofuz8z ... lmodel.jpg

Its a new weapon, the spiked club. I made the model within 2 hours (thats why its nasty;) ) with Blender and Gimp 2, but its only for testing if I could mod. But when I used my model, it crashes when I actor_spawn it. So this is just the baseballbat - model.
In the following link is all I got, my current "meleeweapons" - config with my weapon, and the folder in content/models/weapons called "spikedclub". I put also my fbx, and my .blend file in.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kpkkniofuz8z ... IIV6ul48ja
(I hope all files are free for you if I just publish the upper folder...)

Could you, OldSnake, or any Dev familar with this part, telling me whats wrong with the model? The Origin is at the Hangrip, its pos and rot applied, the mat in blender it is still on the model (may have that caused it?? I should have tried out before.... :( ) Do I have to somehow apply the .mat to it?
Ah, btw I have no NRM-map on it, cause it's just a quick model. I used the shader from the non-PVM (Player View Model) model.

And also, sorry for my bad english, as you I'm not english, neither french:)
I hop you can tell me how and what I can do, that would help me a lot. Maybe also other, who knows?

Greetings from Germany!

EDIT: WoodenClub is nearly the same model, but without the loose spikes. But didn't work, crashes with "unexpected end of stream" message, too...But this time, I remeber there was only one of these messages, before 2. Maybe on fault found??

User avatar
OldSnake
Dev Team
Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:42 pm

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by OldSnake » Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:56 pm

Hello Seneral,

I will take a look at your file very soon :)
Dangerous Rays main developer and Lonely Bits Games director. http://www.lonelybitsgames.com

User avatar
Seneral
Dangerous Rays Supporter
Dangerous Rays Supporter
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by Seneral » Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:22 pm

Thank you very much:)

User avatar
OldSnake
Dev Team
Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:42 pm

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by OldSnake » Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:50 pm

alright it seems to be related to the fbx model conversion tool that fail to convert model to GMF format.

To fix it you need to choose "FBX 6.1 ASCII" instead of "FBX 7.1 Binary" version in the blender FBX export page :)

Please tell me if it is fixing your issue and if it is working i will tell you how to prepare your mod correctly to be distributed to other players.

Thank you for modding the game without any official documentation ;)
Dangerous Rays main developer and Lonely Bits Games director. http://www.lonelybitsgames.com

User avatar
Seneral
Dangerous Rays Supporter
Dangerous Rays Supporter
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by Seneral » Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:39 pm

Hey there,
thank you for the answer, it works partially...
Because there are the next problems:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/h74hd8ebaaf2 ... ljnBz56sBa
So first, it's scaled way to big. I see a lot of work coming to find a size that matches..:(
It has no textures and normalmaps on it (did one quickly yesterday), I wonder if I have to prepare my model for these .mat, so when calling this models it autamatically reads the material, too. I hoped the game would automatically search for it.
So as i didn't have Lua and I'm not familar with it either way, I could not search in the scripts if I have to verify it, or something like that. Because as I spawned it, I could not take it in my inventory and I could also walk through, but I could throw it with 'F' and it collided with the ground. I guess the scripts only supports all originally known objects listed in them? Or why didn't that work?

So I really like to look in all original models for reference, but as I don't think there is a converter that unpack the gmf, I can't do that.
So if that has something to do with the model as it is maybe, unprepared, could you manage to provide a game-ready fbx-model where we can take reference?

Thank you!

User avatar
OldSnake
Dev Team
Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:42 pm

Re: Why i can modding on DR ?

Post by OldSnake » Wed Aug 20, 2014 4:09 pm

Please contact me at contact@lonelybitsgames.com

Thank you !
Dangerous Rays main developer and Lonely Bits Games director. http://www.lonelybitsgames.com

Post Reply